Luggage for Commuting

I read Cass’s recent post about switching between luggage here and had a laugh as it closely resembles an experiment I’ve been working on at the same time.

Lately I’ve been using my Revelate Design bags for commuting and lugging stuff around more than anything remotely resembling camping. The seat bag is great, except when I’m carrying a computer for work and leftovers for lunch. A Carridice type bag seemed to make sense for my ride to and from the office but I wasn’t ready to commit without a little more testing.

Every time I walked past my friend’s long disused (replaced) first responder / EMT bag, I saw a future recycled, hi-vis saddle bag. When I asked for his blessing on my project, I got an immediate, affirmative yes.

I have quite the collection of “because it might come in handy” stuff around, so I was able to cobble something together. Once I had everything gathered, I measured and cut for the straps first. (This will need to be sewn up with patches of leather, or some sort of binding for reinforcement.) Next, I added the 3/4″ nylon straps. Since I didn’t have a spare wooden dowel (5/8″ or something in that neighborhood seems ideal in case this is giving you any ideas), I borrowed an old left crank arm that does not have a match yet hasn’t made it to the local bike coop just yet. See, it’s not clutter. Just raw material.

Due to the lack of structure, this bag does not hang just right, particularly when it is empty or lightly loaded. Fortunately my rear fender keeps the tire and bag from getting into a nasty fight and taking me out in the process. Also note the small shield that I made to keep the bag from pressing against the rear brake cable. This is an essential piece for safety, and if you do not have rear rack bosses to attach this to, a set of p-clamps will work just fine. Do not ride without this unless you like being told when to skid. Of course, a rear rack will obviate the need for a brake cable shield or fenders, plus give the bag more support and offer another lash/attachment point for stability.

Stability – that raises on of my main concerns and reasons for this “experiment.” After a 10+ mile ride with the bag fairly crammed full of stuff, I’m happy to say that the stability of the bag is not an issue, even without a rack. As anyone who has ridden with racks / panniers / baskets etc. can attest, the character of the bike is greatly changed while climbing out of the saddle. However, sitting down, the bike feels pretty close to normal, if only a little slower to change direction due to the additional weight. I am thinking this will improve even more with the bag lashed to a rack as that should increase stability. Or if I’m feeling up to it, maybe I’ll try to fab up something along the line of the Bagman rack to stabilize the bag without a rack. In the end, I think I’ll go with the the rack. Since I own it, this path will be easier and I don’t think the weight penalty will be too bad.

Leave a comment